June gloom

image

When there used to be water in the Neptune pool. Twilight on the terrace is this saturday!

I absolutely love our “June gloom” weather.  Maybe it’s because I grew up up in Los osos, the valley of fog but a “nice” day for me has always been wet and foggy. Another fantastic thing about June gloom?  It means it’s warming up to the east and that means: TOMATOES! Oh, how I’ve missed them! They make my job so very easy because they are, in themselves, the perfect flavor profile.  There’s not quite enough to do a tomato bisque yet…but soon…very soon.

Here’s what you will find at the soup booth this week : Monday in Baywood, Thursday in Morro Bay, and Friday in Cambria : Minestrone gnocchi (the red kind with amazing peacock farms tomatoes) and Split Pea (the green kind).

I look forward to seeing you guys and don’t forget your jars!  Also, Kirsten, of Little Red Hen bread and I will be serving up soup at Hearst Castle this weekend for the “twilight on the terace” event…I think there are still tickets available.  It’s super fun. Contact friends of hearst castle for more info!

Leave a Reply

