Help has arrived, Los Osos

My dear Los Osos (skip this part if you are a loyal Morro Bay or Cambria Farmers Market goer). Its long overdue and I appreciate your patience, but I have finally asked for help in serving you during the markets on Monday. Tomorrow you will meet Nicole, and Nicole will make the line go much faster =), also, I bought a new pot which can hold just about 20 more quarts of soup, so hopefully there will be soup for everyone! Please let me know if there is any other way I can serve you better.

Also, a note on the gluten. Last week’s experiment was a success in using brown rice in the soups. I have also recieved many suggestions from you wonderful folks about other possibilities for soup thickiners and Thank You all for those thoughts, I will put them to the test as well! Here is what I have decided. All the soups will be gluten free EXCEPT for the Mushroom Barley (and any soup which contains Barley for that matter) and also the Gnocchi Vegetable. Gnocchi contain a bit of wheat flour, but other than that my gluten free friends (I have recently joined your club as well), you are safe to eat the soups! Do be aware that if you are EXTREMELY SENSITIVE, I do share a kitchen with other folks who do use wheat, dairy, soy, corn, peanuts, tree nuts, and shellfish. I do use all my own pots and utencils though which are not shared with anyone else.
OK on to this weeks fixins!

Monday in Baywood, Nicole and I will be dishin up: Mushroom Barley (contains gluten) and Chipotle Black Bean

Thursday in Morro bay: Mushroom Barley and Split Pea (I promise this time…sorry about last week, my order was late)

Friday in Cambria: Mushroom Barley and Chipotle Black Bean

I look forward to seeing you all and don’t forget your jars!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cheryl and Mike Lowery on January 16, 2012 at 4:01 am

    Bob’s Red Mill makes a potato flour that is a great for thickening soups.

    Reply

  2. I haven’t tried your split pea soup in a while. I think you have perfected it. The seasoning was outstanding and the creamy texture is perfect. The vegetable flavor comes through beautifully. Definitely a success!

    Reply

  3. Posted by April on November 20, 2012 at 12:18 am

    Question – many of your soup recipes have soy sauce but soy sauce is NOT gluten-free (unless you specifically buy it that way). Are you actually using gluten-free soy sauce? Thanks so much!

    Reply

    • Hi April. Thanks for your question. Yes, I use a certified gluten-free tamari. I am extremely careful to keep the soups I label “gluten-free” as actually “gluten free” the only ones you would need to stay away from are the ones with barley or gnocchi pasta (even though they are potato pasta, they do contain 10% wheat flour). Hope to see you soon! take care. -Stephanie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

