To Gluten or Not to Gluten

I know this is a horrible, blurry foto taken from a "stupid phone" but this is a huge mountian lion we saw on the way out to my parents ranch on Christmas Eve!


ok guys, I need your opinions! For the next couple of weeks I will be attmpting to make some of the soups I have typically thickened with whole wheat flour with brown rice instead. It turns out that many of you lovely soup customers are of the wheat and gluten free persuasion and I would like you to have some options! Heres where you come in, dear customer, please let me know if you do not like this change! Let me know if the texture is weird, or the flavor is off in any way. I have been doing some “at home” taste tests with much success, but alas (contrary to how my Mother raised me) its not all about me. So heres whats coming up this week, again, these soups will all be gluten free even though the ingredients lists claim whole wheat flour (I havent fully committed to changing it permanately until I hear from you!)

Monday in Baywood: Split Pea and Butternut Apple with Toasted Walnut Cream (please switch cashew cream for walnut cream on ingredients lists)…and “secret soup”* is lentil vegetable
*what is secret soup?: well, sometimes I am able to make a third batch of soup for you committed Los Osos Market People, but I dont have room for a third pot behind my regulation netting. so typically secret soup doesnt make its appearance until one of the other soups has sold out. It is, however, available…if you are in on the secret =).

Thursday in Morro Bay: Moroccan Lentil (please note change) and Butternut Apple with Toasted Walnut Cream

Friday in Cambria: Split Pea and Butternut Apple with Toasted Walnut Cream

I look forward to seeing you all and dont forget your jars!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Your soup thickened with walnuts or cashews sounds wonderful. I think gluten free is a great way to go. Some of the veges will thicken soup also. I can’t wait to taste your delicious new combinations. Love, Mom

    Reply

  2. Posted by Theresa Clevenger on January 12, 2012 at 12:17 am

    Your soups thickened by nuts are preferred. The book Wheat Belly’s is an interesting read. Much gratitude for your care regarding wheat and the love in your soups. heart, Theresa

    Reply

  3. Posted by Theresa Clevenger on January 12, 2012 at 12:28 am

    Organic milled flaxseed or arrow root as soup thickeners are other options other than rice flour. Can’t wait to see what you come up with? heart, Theresa

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ann Bonestell on January 13, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Well, I went to the Bob’s Red Mill site and it seems they’ve re-done their GF flour into two separate ones, “Biscuit & Baking Mix” and “All Purpose GF Baking Flour.” I believe the latter is closest to what I had been using.
    http://www.bobsredmill.com/gf-all_purpose-baking-flour.html?&cat=15

    Reply

  5. Posted by Theresa Clevenger on January 14, 2012 at 5:51 am

    Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose flour has sorghum with garbanzo and potato starch? What about brown rice flour?

    Reply

  6. Posted by barb on February 20, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    some people cant have gluten and nuts. brown rice is great. thanks for great soup.barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

